Here are just a few random video clips I made with my mobile phone at Reading this year. There is rain in the tent, Jake Bugg doing “Broken” and one of Darwin Deez‘s funky dance routines.
Reading 2013 Day 3 – The Pictures
Here are just a few random pictures that I took at this years festival. There will be two more picture posts. If you spot yourself in any of them feel free to get in touch and I’d be happy to give you a mention on the blog. If you’d like to read my review of the day click here.
Reading 2013 Day 2 – The Pictures
Here are just a few random pictures that I took at this years festival. There will be two more picture posts. If you spot yourself in any of them feel free to get in touch and I’d be happy to give you a mention on the blog. If you’d like to read my review of the day click here.
Reading 2013 Day 1 – The Pictures
Here are just a few random pictures that I took at this years festival. There will be two more picture posts. If you spot yourself in any of them feel free to get in touch and I’d be happy to give you a mention on the blog. If you’d like to read my review of the day click here.
“What else is in the teaches of peaches?” August 2, 2013
This is a public service announcement; if you are easily offended by the word FUCK then please read no further. You have been fucking warned ok!
I usually listen to my iPod in shuffle mode when I walk from the car to the office every morning. It gives me a good ten minute blast of tunes before I start the day. This morning up popped Eamon with his UK number one from 2004 “Fuck It (I Don’t Want You Back)” I believe that is the first UK number one to feature the F Word in its title. It even generated an answer song in response from Frankee. That was called “FURB (Fuck You Right Back)”. It got me thinking a few things first that FUCK is a rather good word when used in the right context isn’t it?
The word has featured in plenty of songs; “Working Class Hero” from John Lennon and the MC5 introduced their storming live version of “Kick Out The Jams” with the line ‘kick out the jams motherfuckers!’ The word has perhaps been a little overused by rappers too. But secondly it got me thinking what are my favourite songs with the word fuck in the title. Here are my top choices (plus Eamon and Frankee’s efforts) what are yours?
“I live for the way that you cheer and scream for me” July 29, 2013
It seems like American goofball supreme Lady Gaga is doing her best to court controversy once again. Her new album ‘ARTPOP‘ is released later this year and it will be released in a several formats, notably an app. A Gaga spokesperson apparently says “the app itself is a musical and visual engineering system that combines music, art, fashion and technology with a new interactive world-wide community”. They then go on to say “The album ‘ARTPOP’ musically mirrors Gaga’s creative process as she passes through the mediums of each artist she collaborates with, scoring a blueprint of her journey. The result, a “rage” of electronic passion and fury, defining each artistic process from beginning to end, ‘ARTPOP’ could mean anything. But for her, this is a celebration of obsession.” Could this woman be any further up herself?
If there was a prize for someone with the ability to endlessly talk bollocks and that bullshit was an art form then she would win every award available. Do people believe this shite? Anyway the album as an app type experience has been done before when Bjork released her last album ‘Biophilia‘ as an inventive collection of apps. I’m not saying that Gaga’s album will be bad, in fact I am a fan of her music. What I am saying is do we really have to put up with the pretentious crap that she promotes herself with.
Anyway how controversial is she on this occasion? Well she has released a picture of herself with no clothes on sitting on a chair made of discarded microchips and wearing a pair of eye test glasses. Oh shock horror that will offend everyone won’t it? The new single is released on 19th August and is called “Applause”. I’m happy to applaud her musical output to date but not her image and all the drivel and nonsense she spouts! Oh and finally the single isn’t too bad, perhaps a little bit Madonna-ish in places though.
“There’s no escaping the jaws of the alien this time” July 4, 2013
Apparently Wacko Jacko was at one time lined up to take the lead role in a film version of Doctor Who in 1988. Personally I am so very glad that it didn’t happen. What do you folks think? I suspect he would have had a 12-year-old boy as his assistant though. Quite topical given that his daughter Paris was supposedly turned down for a role in the TV series. Bill Cosby was also considered for the Doctor Who role in 1988 as well. Click here to read the story on the NME site.
Which rock or pop star do you think would make a good Doctor Who? I reckon David Bowie (obviously), Matt Bellamy, Macy Gray or Florence Welch for starters!
“All my life watching America” July 3, 2013
During my formative years I was a big fan of the USA. This view was largely developed from reading Marvel comics, the Apollo missions and watching westerns and war films on the TV. As I got older and became interested in politics my views on America flexed somewhat. Whilst there is much to love about the place there is an awful lot to dislike. I love New England, San Francisco, Marvel Comics and Stephen King to name but a few. I dislike, again to name just a few, the Republican party, the Christian right, Dubya, Gun laws and the way Hollywood changes so much in movies (The ending of I Am Legend, Disney‘s version of Winnie the Pooh and the fact that no Americans were involved in the real Great Escape)
But I do have a number of friends and readers that are Americans so I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very happy Independence Day from a Brit across the pond. To help you celebrate here are some of my favourite USA themed songs




























































